Lecture Series: “Labor, Movement, Experience: New Directions in Art History”, 2016-2017

Art History Graduate Student Lecture Series

Title: Labor, Movement, Experience: New Directions in Art History

When: September 13, 2016 – April 25, 2017 / 5:30PM

Every year a committee comprised of graduate students and one faculty member organizes a yearlong series of lectures by prominent scholars, curators, and visual artists on various topics in art history.

The first lecture of this series will be given by Department of Art History faculty member and Co-Director of the Center for Material Culture Studies, Sandy Isenstadt. Professor Isenstadt’s talk entitled “Manufacturing Vision: Lighting for Labor”  will talk place on Tuesday, September 13, 2016 at 5:30PM in Gore 205. The flyer for his lecture can be seen below.

Isenstadt lecture flyer

All programs are free and open to the public. Please register at www.UDconnection.com/Events. For more information and locations please contact the Department of Art History, University of Delaware, 318 Old College, Newark, DE 19716-2516, phone (302) 831-8415, or our website, www.udel.edu/ArtHistory or on our Facebook group University of Delaware Friends of Art History. To request disability accommodations, please call (302) 831-8415 at least 10 business days in advance of the event.

Funding for the 2016-2017 lecture series is generously provided by the Center for Material Culture Studies, Department of Art Conservation, Department of English, Department of Women and Gender Studies, Department of Anthropology, Museum Studies Program, Department of Art History, Hagley Program in Capitalism, Technology and Culture, Professional & Continuing Studies on behalf of the Osher Lifelong Learning Institute and Center for Global and Area Studies. Special thanks to Carol A. Nigro (Ph.D. 2009) and Charles Isaacs for their sponsorship of the William I. Homer Lecture and to Mr. William C. Allan for his sponsorship of the Wayne Craven Lecture.

This lecture series is organized by the 2016-2017 graduate student lecture series committee: Laura Sevelis and Emily Shartrand (co-chairs), Kristina Grey, Jordan Hillman, Gabriella Johnson, Sabena Kull, Galina Olmsted, Alba Campo Rosillo, Rachael Vause, and Spencer Wigmore. The faculty advisor for the lecture series is Dr. Jason Hill.

All events are part of the Department of Art History, University of Delaware.

To see the full brochure of events and contributors, visit the Department of Art History’s lecture series webpage.